About Us

Who We Are

Founded in 1949

Saint Mary’s High School held its first classes in the Parish Elementary School.  The following year 150 boys and girls continued their studies in the new, dedicated, high school building.  Staffed by the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, parish priests, and joining later, the Marist Brothers, the building currently known as Immaculatta Hall served as the home of the high school for its first decade.

Expanding Facilities

With increasing enrollment, Monsignor John K. Sharp worked to expand the school facilities and in 1959, a second high school building opened its doors.  This new building, the present day Marist Hall which was run and staffed by the Marist Brothers became Saint Mary’s Boys High School. The original building was re-designated the Girls High School, which continued to be run by the IHM Sisters.  This arrangement would remain in place until the early 1990’s.

Denihan Field

Through the decades, numerous renovations and updates to the schools and grounds were completed.  In 1981, under the leadership of Monsignor John J. Wiest, the athletic field was completed.  For the first time in three decades, the Gaels finally had a field to call their home.

Return of the Co-Educational Experience

Following the guidance of Monsignor John J. Skelly, 1993 saw the return of the original coeducational experience at St. Mary’s.  The Boys and Girls schools were merged, and at this time the school buildings were renamed in honor of the two religious orders who had shepherded them through the previous 40 years.

Beginning with the 1996 school year, Dr. Kevin McBride assumed the role of Principal, the first layperson to hold that position. Dr. McBride started his time at St. Mary’s as teacher, later assistant principal and finally assuming leadership of the school.

From 1998 through June of 2015, St. Mary’s continued its mission under the pastoral guidance of Monsignor John J. McCann who uniquely held the position as pastor and member of the Class of 1957. Monsignor’s steadfast commitment to Catholic education enabled the growth of a state-of-the-art infrastructure, bringing St. Mary’s to the forefront of technology in Catholic high schools.

Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist

In 2021, the Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist joined the Schools of St. Mary in our ongoing mission of educating the young people entrusted to our care. The Sisters trace their founding to the New York area, under the auspices of the former Archbishop of New York, John Cardinal O’Connor.

At the Present

At present, the parish and school community is under the leadership of Rev. Fr. Robert A. Romeo, who passionately believes in Catholic education and the mission of the school. With his steadfast commitment to Catholic education, the students, faculty, and administration of St. Mary’s can expect a continuation of academic excellence and the improvement of the facilities to lead St. Mary’s well into the future.